Quiksilver’s Jeremy Flores Claims 2010 Billabong Pipe Masters In Memory Of Andy Irons

Photo Courtesy: Quiksilver/Mike Coots

Photo Courtesy: Quiksilver/Mike Coots

Huntington Beach, Calif. (Thursday, Dec. 16, 2010) – Quiksilver’s Jeremy Flores took first place today on the North Shore of Oahu at the world’s most prestigious and longest running professional surfing event: the Billabong Pipe Masters, In Memory of Andy Irons. Quiksilver also had an unprecedented three surfers finish in the top three, as Kelly Slater and Dane Reynolds finished equal third overall.

Jeremy is the first European surfer in the 40-year history of this event to write his name in the champion’s honor roll and this was the first major win of his six-year career and his largest pay check to date – $75,000 USD. Jeremy, who ended the year ranked 9th in the world, was also personally presented with a handmade Gerry Lopez surfboard by the legendary Pipe Master himself.

Flores employed steely faith and patience in the critical heats he surfed today, taking down Kieren Perrow in the final and Kelly Slater in the semi finals with last minute tube-riding charges in clean four-foot surf. For Perrow, this was the first final of his career. Perrow’s consolation was the top wave-score of the day: 9.7 in his semi-final against Dane Reynolds.

Photo Courtesy: Quiksilver/Coots

Photo Courtesy: Quiksilver/Mike Coots

When talking of his last-minute ability to turn the heats today while under crazy pressure: “Never give up,” said Flores. “I’m not going to give up. It’s the final. It’s the Pipeline Masters. It’s everything.”

The 2007 ASP Rookie of the year rode a board with an Andy Irons image on it in honor of his incredible surfing performances at the Billabong Pipe Masters.

“AI Forever! He’s my idol”, Flores said after his win. “I grew up watching him and I dedicate this victory to him.”

Slater, who claimed his historic 10th overall ASP World Title in Puerto Rico last month, was a key component in all major outcomes today after eliminating Adrian Buchan in the Quarterfinals.

1st: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 14.54, $75,000
2nd: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 13.77, $30,000
H1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 17.50; Kelly Slater (USA) 17.23, $17,000
H2: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 15.03; Dane Reynolds (USA) 6.83, $17,000
Quarter Finals
H1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 14.00; Owen Wright (AUS) 7.43, $13,250
H2: Kelly Slater (USA) 12.94; Adrian Buchan (AUS) 3.16, $13,250
H3: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 13.00; Jordy Smith (ZAF) 12.00, $13,250
H4: Dane Reynolds (USA) 17.00; Taylor Knox (USA) 3.37, $13,250

1. Kelly Slater (USA); 2. Jordy Smith (ZAF); 3. Mick Fanning (AUS); 4. Taj Burrow (AUS); 5. Dane Reynolds (USA); 6. Bede Durbidge (AUS); 7. Adrian Buchan (AUS); 8. Owen Wright (AUS); 9. Jeremy Flores (FRA); 10. Adriano De Souza (BRA).

About Quiksilver
Quiksilver is committed to providing tools for uncovering, expressing and expanding your personal style. Our aim is to foster the sense of individual expression and excitement – the stoke that is the essence of boardriding.* We’re also here to spread the word because the only thing better than finding stoke is sharing it.

*Boardriding is about timing and style. It’s youthful, active, casual, and free flowing. There is no wrong way to ride a board. The goal is simply to learn, progress, improve, and give it your own interpretation.