Another Lay Day For ‘Bong Pro Tahiti

Tanner Gudauskas warms up for his crucial upcoming heat against Fred Patacchia and Matt Wilkinson. Photo: ASP/Kirstin

Tanner Gudauskas warms up for his crucial upcoming heat against Fred Patacchia and Matt Wilkinson. Photo: ASP/Kirstin

Small Surf Forces Another Lay Day for Billabong Pro Tahiti, Tomorrow Looking Good

TEAHUPOO, Taiarapu/Tahiti (Thursday, August 26, 2010) – With virtually no surf to speak of today, event organizers at the Billabong Pro Tahiti have called the fourth consecutive lay day, but with swell projected to rise throughout the afternoon and tomorrow, the world’s best surfers may finally hit the water in the morning.

“No surf today and we’ve called competition off but tomorrow looks like a real possibility,” Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We’ve known from the beginning that the forecast we were presented with would be challenging. Swell is projected to increase this afternoon and into tomorrow and we could be looking at a Round 1 start in the morning.”

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for a small, long period southwest swell to build slowly today and continue Friday, which will offer a slight increase in size and power from what we’ve seen the past couple days. A better looking swell is lining up for Sunday afternoon and Monday.

A full breakdown of ASP World Title Rankings possibilities, including the ASP midyear field reduction, for the Billabong Pro Tahiti are available at

When competition commences, up first will be Damien Hobgood (USA), 31, Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), 25, and Jay Thompson (AUS), 28, in the opening heat of the Billabong Pro Tahiti.

The Billabong Pro Tahiti will be webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto

Heat 1: Damien Hobgood (USA), Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 2: Jadson Andre (BRA), Luke Stedman (AUS), Nate Yeomans (USA)
Heat 3: Bobby Martinez (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Marco Polo (BRA)
Heat 4: Dane Reynolds (USA), Tom Whitaker (AUS), Blake Thornton (AUS)
Heat 5: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Roy Powers (HAW), Tim Reyes (USA)
Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Joan Duru (FRA)
Heat 7: Mick Fanning (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Tamaroa McComb (PYF)
Heat 8: Jordy Smith (ZAF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Manoa Drollet (PYF)
Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Tuamata Puhetini (PYF)
Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA), Andy Irons (HAW), Heiarii Williams (PYF)
Heat 11: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW), Drew Courtney (AUS)
Heat 12: Owen Wright (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 13: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Tanner Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 14: Michel Bourez (PYF), Dean Morrison (AUS), Mick Campbell (AUS)
Heat 15: Taylor Knox (USA), Luke Munro (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 16: Chris Davidson (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Ben Dunn (AUS)

Billabong Pro Tahiti presented By Air Tahiti Nui
Stop No. 5 of 10 on the 2010 ASP World Tour
Teahupoo, Taiarapu/Tahiti
August 23 – September 3, 2010