Fuel TV Airs “Floating”

fuel-tv

“TUNE IN”



FUEL TV Airs Inspirational Surf Documentary “Floating: The Nathan Gocke Story” Wednesday, June 23, 2010 


Airing Wednesday, June 23, at 6:30pm ET, and re-airing several more times over the next month, FUEL TV will showcase the inspirational documentary “Floating: The Nathan Gocke Story.”


“Floating: The Nathan Gocke Story” is a documentary film about Gocke, a man who survived a tragedy of the elements, his courage to embrace a new existence and another chance at life. A film about hope and humanity, Emmy nominated commercial Director/Producer Richard Yelland explores one man’s enduring journey of rehabilitation. 
 


Saturday, March 29th, 2008 started off like every other Saturday for 32-year-old surfer Gocke. But it was a day his life would change forever after a surf accident left him paralyzed from the chest down. A quadriplegic with enough feeling in his arms to enter an intensive rehabilitation program, Nathan did not dwell on his accident, but instead looked to the future. His increasing strength, along with pivotal encounters with key individuals along the way, helped crystallize one simple thought in Nathan’s mind – that he would one day surf again.  


Executive Producers for Warrior Poets, Academy Award Nominee (“Super Size Me”), Morgan Spurlock, and Jeremy Chilnick (Head of Production for Warrior Poets) are presenting this Curtis Birch Production/Richard Yelland film in association with FUEL TV. 
 


“Spending two years filming Nathan’s recovery was a life-changing experience,” says Yelland. “Nathan became a personal inspiration to me in how he was able to put his tragedy aside and focus on his ability – to dream and realize it.  “Floating” is a story of one surfer whose journey is a declaration that we can endure and overcome.”
 


The film has made an impact with several communities and organizations including an outpouring of support from musical artists in backing the project. A significant collection of music was donated to the film from artists as noteworthy as Bright Eyes, Sigur Ros, Bon Iver, Fanfarlo and Animal Collective. 


“Ever since I can remember I have wanted to set film to the music of my favorite artists,” says Yelland. “It’s been just another magical aspect of working on this project.” Other notable artists featured on the soundtrack include: Moonlit Sailor, Bad Veins, David Kilgour and Damien Jurado.


A documentary that features many beautiful, cinematographic moments, “Floating: The Nathan Gocke Story: was produced by Yelland with the support of the Life Rolls On Foundation, a division of the Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation involved in improving the quality of life for those with spinal cord injuries. (www.supportnathangocke.com)
 


View a piece of the film here

FUEL TV’s “The Daily Habit” hosted “Floating” Producer Morgan Spurlock where he discussed Gocke’s story

“Insane Cinema: Floating” Air Dates:

Wednesday, 6/23/2010           6:30 PM ET / 3:30 PM PT


Saturday, 6/26/2010              1:30 PM ET / 10:30 AM PT


Tuesday, 6/29/2010               9:30 PM ET / 6:30 PM PT


Thursday, 7/01/2010             12:30 AM ET / 9:30 PM PT


Sunday, 7/4/2010                  9:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM PT


Monday 7/5/2010                  10:00 PM ET / 7:00 PM PT


Monday, 7/12/2010               9:30 PM ET / 6:30 PM PT


Thursday, 7/15/2010             6:00 PM ET / 3:00 PM PT


Sunday, 8/1/2010                  1:00 AM ET / 10:00 PM PT

Nathan catches a wave.

Nathan catches a wave.

The team prepares Nathan for a surf.

The team prepares Nathan for a surf.

The team takes Nathan into the lineup.

The team takes Nathan into the lineup.

From left to right: Jesse Faen (leader of water team); Nathan Gocke; Brendan Simmons (who saved Nathan's life); Will Tipp (2nd Unit DP); Brian Maier (sound); and Richard Yelland (Director, Producer and Super 8 camera).

From left to right: Jesse Faen (leader of water team); Nathan Gocke; Brendan Simmons (who saved Nathan's life); Will Tipp (2nd Unit DP); Brian Maier (sound); and Richard Yelland (Director, Producer and Super 8 camera).

Nathan Gocke.

Nathan Gocke.