Vans Triple Crown Of Surfing Starts Today—Watch It LIVE


HALEIWA, HI (Nov. 12, 2009) — The world’s first $1,000,000 surf series, the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing presented by Rockstar Energy Drink, gets underway on Oahu’s North Shore today with the battle for the record “Triple Threat” prize purse. Haleiwa plays host to the first jewel in the crown: the Reef Hawaiian Pro, a prime 6-star men’s ASP World Qualifying Series event.

Competition will get underway at 8 a.m. in the 3- to 5-foot surf and there’ll be no time for warming up with the action thick and heavy from the starting horn. Round one features Dane Gudauskas (CA), Mark Mathews (Aus), and four former Vans Triple Crown champions in Hawaii’s Sunny Garcia, Derek Ho, Myles Padaca and Kaipo Jaquias.


Find out the call for the day, each day, as soon as it’s made by Director Randy Rarick by signing up for mobile text alerts at For the latest surf updates, stay tuned to, the official surf forecaster of the Vans Triple Crown Triple Threat. All the action will be broadcast live on the web at, as well as on Hawaii television on Oceanic channel 250.

Making the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing presented by Rockstar Energy Drink possible: Reef, O’Neill, Billabong, Gidget Worldwide, Nixon, Turtle Bay Resort, Hawaiian Airlines, JN Automotive Group, Surfing Magazine,, FUEL TV, The Honolulu Advertiser, Hawaiian Springs Water, Road Runner, Climb On chemical-free skincare, and the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP). The Series is proud to announce that it is working with local company Tr3ees to embark upon a greener, more sustainable future.