TransWorld SURF’s Chris Cote To Host ASP Champions Crowning Banquet On Fuel TV

If you haven’t got your fill of him on this Web site, you can catch TransWorld SURF Editor In Chief Chris Cote host the recent ASP Awards Banquet on Fuel TV…Chris did a lot better this year and had no run-ins with Layne Beachley, who last year asked in front of the whole ceremony, “Who are you?”

Kelly Slater ASP Awards Banquet

Kelly Slater at the ASP Awards Banquet, Photo: Bielmann/SPL

Airing Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 8:00 pm ET/PT (in SurfSpot), and re-airing several more times through the next month, FUEL TV will showcase “2008 ASP Champions Crowning.”

The ASP World Champions Crowning is the night where the Association of Surfing Professionals recognizes its competitors and their achievements for the year of competition and crowns its champions. Along with the world champs Kelly Slater and Stephanie Gilmore, the ASP will also give recognition to both the men and women runner ups, the rookies of the year, and the very special Pete Whittaker award.

(image 15 of 49)

ASP CEO Brody Carr on the red carpet. Photo: Bielmann/SPL

“2008 ASP Champions Crowning” Air Dates:
Thursday 4/2/09                     8:00pm et/5:00pm pt
Thursday 4/2/09                     11:00pm et/8:00pm pt
Saturday 4/4/09                      10:00am et/7:00am pt
Wednesday 4/15/09                4:00pm et/1:00pm pt
Sunday 5/3/09                        11:30am et/8:30am pt
Monday 5/11/09                     12:30pm et/9:30am pt
Tuesday 5/12/09                     6:00pm et/3:00pm pt
Friday 5/22/09                        4:00pm et/1:00pm pt
Wednesday 5/27/09                12:30am et/930pm pt

FUEL TV is the action sports lifestyle network for skateboarding, snowboarding, surfing, BMX, freestyle-motocross, and wakeboarding. A unit of Fox Cable Networks, FUEL TV was launched July 1, 2003 and is seen in 26-million U.S. homes. To subscribe to FUEL TV, call 877-4-FUEL-TV. For program times and other information, visit