Josh Redman Claims O’Neill Cold Water Classic South Africa

Josh Redman. Photo courtesy Surfing South Africa/Kolesky-SanDisk

August 25, 2008: - Josh Redman employed his patented powerful maneuvers to overcome the double overhead surf and clinch the premier Men’s title at the O’Neill Cold Water Classic in a nail-biting final at the challenging Crayfish Factory big wave spot in Cape Town on Sunday.

The strongly built 20 year-old from Umdloti, north of Durban, was awarded the title on a count-back when he and renowned big-wave charger and Crayfish Factory local Ian Armstrong from Kommetjie tied on 12.75 points out of a possible 20 in the 25 minute final.

Redman’s highest scoring single ride of 8.0 out of 10 earned him the nod and the R6 000 winner’s prize-purse along with 1 000 SSA Pro Surf Tour ratings points in the 3A rated event.

“I’m really happy to win in such challenging surf and against top class opposition,” Redman said. “I like coming to Cape Town, I always have fun here, and well done to the organizers for holding the Men’s event back until the big surf arrived on the final day.”

The four-day event used a mobile format that took the contest to best surf available on each day. Virtually flat conditions saw the organizers postpone the event last Thursday before getting the opening rounds underway at Witsands on Friday and completing the preliminary rounds of the Pro Junior Boys at Misty Cliffs on Saturday.

The top two finished less than a point ahead of third placed Clinton Gravett (East London) with Matthew Bromley (Kommetjie), who only turns 17 next month, taking fourth in the final despite having dominated both his quarterfinal and semifinal heats with great wave selection and radical maneuvers.

The 1A rated Women’s title went to Kirsty Delport (Berea, Durban) who led from start to finish after opening her account with a long ride on a set wave in what was the first women’s event ever staged at the Crayfish Factory. Delport finished 3.5 points clear of runner-up Tarryn Chudleigh (Kommetjie) with Melkbosstrand’s Chantelle Rautenbach taking third and Tasha Mentasti (Durban) fourth.

O’Neill team rider Casey Grant from Scottburgh demonstrated his class in big surf to secure his second victory on successive weekends with a comfortable 4.0 point win over 14 year-old Davey Brand (Kommetjie) in the 3A rated Pro Junior Boys event. All four finalists displayed a fearless approach in the powerful surf with Chris Leppan (Umhlanga) and Michael February (Kommetjie) ending third and fourth respectively.

The fifth edition of the O’Neill Cold Water Classic was proudly supported by Ocean Minded footwear who performed beach clean ups on each day of the event; Corona Premium Beer and also EMT-Emergency Medical Training services who were on standby at the event for the four-day period.

The event was sanctioned y Surfing South Africa, the national controlling body for the sport, and formed part annual Pro Surf Tour (PST).

O’Neill Cold Water Classic Results

1.  Josh Redman (Umdloti)                            R6 000
2.  Ian Armstrong (Kommetjie)                      R2 400
3.  Clinton Gravett (East London)                 R1 500
4.  Matthew Bromley (Kommetjie)                 R1 300
=5.  Rob Bain (Australia)                              R1 000
=5.  Gary van Wieringen (Durban)               R1 000
=7.  Dylan Stone (Port Elizabeth)                 R   800
=7.  Devyn Mattheys (East London)            R   800

1.  Kirsty Delport (Berea, Durban)               R1 000
2.  Tarryn Chudleigh (Kommetjie)                 R   450
3.  Chantelle Rautenbach (Melkbos)            R   300
4.  Tasha Mentasti (Durban)                        R   250

Pro Junior Boys
1.  Casey Grant (Scottburgh)                     R2 500
2.  Davey Brand (Kommetjie)                      R1 500
3.  Chris Leppan (Umhlanga)                      R1 100
4.  Michael February (Kommetjie)               R   900

CATEGORIZED: Competition, News